Awards Day commemorates academic excellence

This year’s Awards Day commemorated students who have demonstrated academic excellence in their studies.

One graduating senior from each department based on grade point average and overall quality of work received a medal. The medals are chosen by each department chair. In order for a student to be eligible for an award, the student must have at least a 3.5 overall GPA in their major and minor courses and must have accomplished at least 15 hours in their major courses as well.

Freshmen and juniors who have shown academic excellence were also given awards. Faculty of the Year was awarded to Web Drake, chair of the communications department, and Staff Member of the Year was awarded to Cam Tracy, the university’s web development agent.

Other awards included the Greek scholarship cups which were given to the men of Lambda Chi Alpha Fraternity and Chi Omega Sorority.

The awards given were as follows:
Major in Art: Sarah Lawler
Major in studio Art: Emily Traylor
Major in Biology – Heather Joy Vidal
Major in Cell and Molecular Biology – Gray Magee
Major in Conservation Biology – Emily Easter
Major in Biochemistry – Daniel Mathis
Major in Chemistry – Evan Lewoczko
Major in Digital Media Communications – David Parks
Major in Communication Studies – Anna Goodman
Major in Broadcast Journalism – Allison Pulliam
Major in Journalism – Danica Smithwick
Major in Media Communications – Rian Trotter
Major in Public Relations – Elise Watkins
Major in Theatre – Elizabel Riggs
Major in Computer Science – Reed McLean
Major in Engineering (Mechanical) – Chelsea Johnson
Major in Engineering (Electrical) – Dillon Lisk
Major in English – Hayley Johnson
Major in Applied Linguistics – Melissa Hardman
Major in Intercultural Studies – Clare Williams
Major in French – Sheyanna Schnepper
Major in Spanish – William Wright
Major in Teaching English as a Second Language – William Wright
Major in Mathematics – Dillon Lisk
Major in Church Music – Benjamin Baytes
Major in Music – Grace Carbonell
Major in Music Education – Rebecca Brasher
Major in Physics – Jonathan Eldridge
Major in Political Science – Allison Pulliam
Major in Psychology – Ainsley Hunt
Major in Accounting – Lacie Fink
Major in Business Administration – Cassie Jones
Major in Economics – Cherish Lo
Major in Organizational Leadership – Philip Cameron
Major in Interdisciplinary Studies – McKinley Tribble
Major in Teaching and Learning – Victoria Cagle
Major in Athletic Training – Emily Waggoner
Major in Exercise Science and Wellness – Zoe Sudbury
Major in Physical Education and Health – Kelley Faulkner
Major in Sport Management – Graham Perkins
Major in Social Work – Kaylene Portell
Major in Nursing – Rachel Horton
Major in Biblical Studies-Languages – Reeves Garrett
Major in Christian Studies – Logan Smith
Major in Christian Ministry and Missions – Jameson Winter
Major in Christian Thought and Tradition – Zachary Clemmons
Major in Philosophy – Christian Winter
Other awards presented:
The Barnabas Leadership Award: Kate Pryor and David Taylor
The Bettye and Kermit Whiteaker Freshman Biology Award: Jacob Lemon
The Dr. Bill Bouchillon Psychology Excellence Award: Rachel Younger
The Kyle L. Hathcox Memorial Physics Award: Jeremiah Marcellino
The Curtiss E. Scott Business Excellence Award: Allen Bradley
The Service Through Engineering Award: Nathaniel Parke
The Kina S. Mallard Communication Arts Student of the Year Award: Anna-Alicia Sails
The Georgia Wilson Memorial Award for Clinical Nursing: BethAnne Davis
The Helen Blythe Creative Writing Award: Olivia Winters
The Dr. James Alex Baggett History Research Paper Award: Seth Reid
The Dorothy Woodard Myatt Intern of the Year Award: Billie Dee Preuett for Elementary Intern of the year and Toni Thompson for Secondary Intern of the year
The Nora Smith Barker Student Teacher of the Year Award: Benjamin Walker
The Wolfram Award in Computational Science: Ashley Moon
The Tutor of the Year Award: Nicole Bantz
The Fred DeLay Memorial Award: BethAnne Davis
The Intramural Male and Female Athlete of the Year Award: Titus Wade and Grace Fern

About Shelby Nicholas 21 Articles
Shelby Nicholas, Class of 2016, is a senior public relations major and marketing minor. She loves cats, coffee, and cozy sweaters.