Newly elected class officers strive to give back


As the spring semester comes to an end, new Student Government Association class officers have been elected for the 2015-2016 school year.

The voting took place from April 23 – April 27, and the student body was able to cast their votes through the Portal website.

The upcoming sophomore, junior and senior classes voted to fill the positions of president, vice president, secretary and treasurer.

Anna Goodman, a communications studies major from Kansas City, Kansas, was elected as the senior class president.

She said she was excited to run so she could have an opportunity to have a role in an organization that will give back to the senior class.

“Because it is our last year, I would love to see more unity,” Goodman said. “I would love to help bring our class closer together as a whole – to see them grow closer.”

Amid numerous university transitions, Goodman said she is hoping to help the student body embrace the changes on campus.

“It is a larger leadership role than I have ever had,” Goodman said, “but it will definitely be a growing experience. I am excited to see where it goes and what it brings for our class.”

Other senior elected officers are: Allen Bradley
, junior accounting major from Henderson, Tennessee as class vice president; Allison Pulliam
, junior broadcast journalism major from Granger, Indiana as class treasurer and Andrew Graham, junior art major form Jonesboro, Arkansas as class secretary.

The junior class president is Benjamin Melton, a sophomore biology major from Dyersburg, Tennessee. The vice president will be Hannah Willis, sophomore accounting major from Franklin, Tennessee. Tansil Binkley, sophomore psychology major from Jackson, Tennessee was elected as the secretary and Katherine Caid, sophomore biology major from Little Rock, Arkansas will serve as the treasurer.

Sophomore class president will be Chandler Bell, freshman biology major from Paducah, Kentucky. Trenton Holloway, freshman biology major from Harrisburg, Illinois will be the vice president. Anna Jenkins, freshman nursing major from Olive Branch, Mississippi will be treasurer and Seth Reid, freshman history major from Valrico, Florida will serve as the class secretary.

SGA vice president Emma Kurt, sophomore biology major, said she is excited to work with the new officers.

“I’m excited for the new dynamic they will bring to meetings and I’m looking forward to working with them,” she said.

About Rebecca Morris 38 Articles
Rebecca Morris is the managing editor for the Cardinal & Cream. She is a public relations major with a minor in photojournalism, class of 2015.