AWARDS DAY 2014: Union awards 46 graduating seniors with medals for academic excellence

Awards Day Chapel
Carla Sanderson, executive vice president for strategic initiatives and provost, presents Steven Alridge, sports information director for athletics, sports information director for Union Athletics, with the Gary L. Carter Staff of the Year Award. | Photo by Matt McDaniel
Carla Sanderson, executive vice president for strategic initiatives and provost, presents Steven Aldridge, Union’s sports information director, with the Gary L. Carter Staff of the Year Award at Awards Day May 9 in the G.M. Memorial Savage Chapel. | Photo by Matt McDaniel

Each spring, Union students, faculty and staff are selected to be honored at Awards Day. On May 9, this tradition of the Union community continued.

Union faculty, staff and students presented Dr. Hal Poe, Charles Colson professor of faith and culture, with the Carla D. Sanderson Faculty of the Year award.

Union also awarded Steve Aldridge, sports information director, the Gary L. Carter Staff of the Year award.

During the ceremony more than 70 students, faculty and staff were awarded for their talents. Forty-six Academic Excellence Medals were given out, recognizing graduating seniors with the highest grade point averages in their field of study.

Winners of these medals are as follows:  Elisabeth Grace Marsch, art; Hilary Bailey Borden, studio art; Robyn R. Reynolds, biology; Joseph James Dresser, cell and molecular biology; Kathryn Elizabeth Eudy, chemistry; Abigail Esther Winters, digital media studies; Jacob Stephen Moore, advertising; Matthew Keith Thielke, broadcast journalism; Caroline Evelyn Miller, media communications; Mckenzie Chandler Masters, public relations; Benjamin Douglas Horne, computer science; Robert Todd Jones, engineering; Rebecca A. Edgren, English; Gracie Alexandria Wise, history; Zachary Andrew Calvert, intercultural studies; Betty Kay Stinson, family studies; Molly Rebecca King, sociology; Jonathan Philip Rogers, applied linguistics; Allie Grace Durham, French; Jonathan Philip Rogers, Spanish; Rachel Nicole Emanuel, teaching English as a second language; David E. Clark, mathematics; Adam G. Stanford, church music; Abby

Ann Williams, music; John Brandon Swing, music performance; William Simon Burke, music theory; Elizabeth Noel Olson, physics; Seth Douglas Brake, political science; Kelsy F. Dement, psychology; Deborah Anne Brewster, accounting; Thomas Lisle Whitman II, business administration; Andrew T. Cox, economics; Phillip Henry Van Ravensway, organizational leadership; Laura Kay Richardson, elementary education; Anna Claire Frederick, learning foundations; Emily Rachel Grove, special education; Dionna Linn, athletic training; Alex Jamison Rider, exercise science and wellness; Krister N. Dahl Andreassen, sport management; Alison Marie Holcomb, social work; Rebecca A. Sperry, nursing; Shelbe Renee Marshall, Biblical studies; David Andrew Knack, Biblical studies-languages; Christine Elizabeth Ryan, Christian studies; Frank Immanuel Weise III, philosophy; and Caleb Phillips Creel, theology.

The awards given to students for outstanding work in their fields or organizations are as follows: The Bettye & Kermit Whiteaker Freshman Biology Award to Joseph Bakeer; The Bettye & Kermit Whiteaker Freshman Chemistry Award to Jenna Summerlin; The Bill Truex Award In Computer Science to Nathaniel Webb; Broadman And Holman Award to Zach Thompson; The Dr. Bill Bouchillon Psychology Excellence Award to Kelsey McFarland; Kyle L. Hathcox Memorial Physics Award to Jonathan Eldridge; The Curtiss E. Scott Business Excellence Award to Deborah Anne Brewster; Service Through Engineering Award to Grace Morriss; The Kina S. Mallard Communication Arts Student Of The Year Award to Ben Wright; The Georgia Wilson Memorial Award For Clinical Nursing to Elizabeth Murphy; The Helen Blythe Creative Writing Award to John Austin Gray; The Dr. James Alex Baggett History Research Paper

Award to Allie Durham; The Wolfram Award In Computational Science to Joshua Stucky; The Fred DeLay Memorial Award to Dionna Linn; The John C. Moore Award to Allison Martin and Derek Roof; The Barnabas Leadership Award to Erin Allen and Andrew Stricklin; The Intramural Female Athlete of the Year to Kaylee Shackleford; and The Intramural Male Athlete of the Year to Jared Haney.

The Nora Smith Barker Student Teachers Of The Year went to Kelly Geasley for Elementary Student Teacher of the Year, Kinsey Beninato for Special Education Student Teacher of the Year and Rachel Emanuel for Secondary Student Teacher of the Year.

The Greek Scholarship Cups went to Lambda Chi Alpha and Chi Omega.

This year’s scholarship cup marks the 67th consecutive year the ladies of Chi Omega have been honored with this award.

The Howard Newell Innovative Teaching Award went to Dr. Jennifer Gruenke, associate professor of biology.

The teaching award also recognized Dr. Geoffrey Poore with an honorable mention.


  • Carla D. Sanderson Faculty of the Year Award: Dr. Hal Poe, Charles Colson professor of faith and culture
  • Gary L. Carter Staff of the Year Award: Steve Aldridge, sports information director
  • Howard Newell Innovative Teaching Award: Dr. Jennifer Gruenke, associate professor of biology
  • Teaching Award Honorable Mention: Dr. Geoffrey Poore, assistant professor of physics
  • Greek Scholarship Cups: Chi Omega and Lambda Chi Alpha
  • Barnabas Leadership Awards: Erin Allen and Andrew Stricklin
  • Intramural Female Athlete: Kaylee Shackleford
  • Intramural Male Athlete: Jared Haney
Image courtesy of Cardinal & Cream|Cardinal & Cream