Awards chapel honors excellence

By Abby Ott, Staff Writer

The annual Awards Day chapel May 4 honored those who have displayed academic excellence.

The Faculty of the Year was awarded to Dr. Gavin Richardson, professor of English.

The Staff of the Year award was given to Christy Young, coordinator of special programs and administrative assistant to the dean of the School of Theology and Missions.

Dr. Patricia Hamilton, associate professor of English, received the Newell Innovative Teaching award. Honorable mentions went to Dr. Joshua Veltman, associate professor of music; Sandra Brown, associate professor of nursing; Dr. Christopher Blair, associate professor of communication arts and coordinator of digital media studies; Ashley Blair, assistant professor of communication arts; Cam Tracy, web development agent; and Dr. C. Ben Mitchell, Graves professor of moral philosophy.

More than 40 seniors were awarded Academic Excellence Medals for having the highest GPA in their field of study.

The winners are as follows: Rachel Anita Moore, art; David Yung-Ern Koh, biology; Allison Gooch, cell and molecular biology; Erin Elizabeth Wyatt, conservation biology; Jonathan Bradford Boyd, chemistry; Alyssa Nicole Karr, broadcast journalism and sociology; Christina Nicole Gooch, digital media studies; Alexander David Brown, journalism; Nigel Jamaal Manuel, media communications; Emily Jane Anderson, theater; Grayson Reid Hardaway, computer science; Jeffrey Alan Maharrey, engineering; Hannah Elizabeth Wakefield, English; Caitlin Paige Roach, history; Katherine Taylor Pullen, intercultural studies; Andrea Leigh Schreiber, family studies; Jordan Sharp, applied linguistics; Spencer Craig Connatser, French; Natalie Delise Wittman, Spanish; Victoria Jeanene Stargel, teaching English as a second language; Kimberly Joy Lukens, mathematics; Phillip Matthew Mahoney, music; Bradford Lee Carrington, church music; Samuel Joseph Ritter, music performance; Emilie Shirlene Huffman, physics; Caraline E. Rickard, political science; Emilie Cecilia Moroski, psychology; Benjamin Alain Fulton, accounting; Thomas Atlee Willis, business administration; Chad Michael Conger, organizational leadership; Randi Marie Jacobs, learning foundations; Sarah Christine Chitwood, elementary education; Ashlin Rae Woodard, special education; Meghan Alyss Bozza, athletic training; Jacob Fields, physical education and health; Heather Nicole Holland, sports management; James Robert Landham, sports medicine; Briahna Kristen Hansen, social work; Michelle Christine Kossick, nursing; Hannah Elizabeth Wakefield, biblical studies and languages and Christian ethics; William Andrew Seaton, Christian studies; Zachary Thomas Settle, philosophy and theology.

Other awards were given to students who excelled in their majors and organizations.

Those recognitions are as follows: the Barnabas Leadership Award to Ryan Linkous, junior biblical studies and languages major, and Melanie Taylor, junior sports management major; the Whiteaker Freshman Biology Award to Shawn Randolph; the Whiteaker Freshman Chemistry Award to Phillip Kurtzweil; the Bill Truex Award in Computer Science to Grayson Hardaway, senior computer science major; Broadman and Holman Award to Weston Wax, senior church history major; the Dr. Bill Bouchillon Psychology Excellence Award to Emily Watkins, senior Christian studies major; the Kyle Hathcox Memorial Physics Award to Elizabeth N. Olson, junior physics major; the Curtiss E. Scott Business Excellence Award to Benjamin Alain Fulton, senior accounting major.

The Fred Delay Memorial Award and the Female John Moore Award went to Hannah Elizabeth Clardy, senior biblical studies major; the Male John Moore Award to Daniel Robert Grimm, senior political science major; the Kina S. Mallard Communication Arts Student of the Year Award to Margaret Brinson, senior journalism major.

The Georgia Wilson Memorial Award for Clinical Nursing went to Shelbi Turner, senior nursing major; the Helen Blythe Creative Writing Award to Tiffany Wade, senior English major; the Professor James Alex Baggett History Research Award to Caitlin Roach, senior history major.

Intramural Male Athlete of the Year went to Mark Brown, junior sports management major; the Intramural Female Athlete of the Year to Erin Spencer, senior biology major; and the Wolfram Award in Computational Science to Megan Mouser, freshman mathematics major.

The Greek Scholarship Cups went to Lambda Chi Alpha and Chi Omega, marking the 65th consecutive year Chi Omega has received the award.

The Nora Smith Barker Student Teachers of the Year Awards went to Caitlin Arnold, senior elementary education major, for Elementary Student Teacher of the Year and to Madison Shepard, senior music education major, for the Secondary Student Teacher of the Year.

About Cardinal & Cream 1011 Articles
The Cardinal & Cream is a student publication of Union University in Jackson, Tennessee. Our staff ranges from freshmen to seniors and includes a variety of majors — including journalism, public relations, advertising, marketing, digital media studies, graphic design and art majors.